Skip to content

Blakey feeling his feet, and a reminder of this boy’s sad history.

January 27, 2013

Following are a few pics of the brave boy to chronicle his progress …

At first he would barely move from his crate in the kitchen – and I left it entirely up to him, apart from gently slipping a lead on every hour or so for the first few days to take him out for wees or for a wander round the garden with the gang. He soon got the idea though and was able to dash out of the crate by himself and out the open door when he wanted to go. About the middle of last week I brought him into the sitting room for a look round and to try out his bed there (strategically placed with his back to the wall) and it wasn’t long before he crept very carefully in by himself to join us:-

!cid_E6C07267-F4E5-45C3-8D76-65BF3F05CC00

We got snowed in for a bit and he had fun exploring the courtyard….

!cid_45E9EC49-9DA1-47BA-B92F-24547AFED5AC

and the garden….

!cid_EEC26C94-7C0C-43DD-9224-F10963717E40

But the joys of a warm sitting room and Cassie’s company soon lured him back in.

!cid_AA33627D-740E-4E10-A3EB-D2EA28978D2D

He continues to get braver every day – this however is probably a step too far – Skippy and I said a gentle no!

But actually it’s amazing how chilled he is standing so close to the scary human with the camera!

!cid_DDC74FC7-A820-4896-B0BF-31795B9050FE

Oh dear the snow is nearly gone…

!cid_2253BD97-5616-487D-B05C-365E7D2A2820
I’d better go and pose for foster mum again.

!cid_B9C95182-9CF9-4316-881F-D1C6702C8FF2

Just checking that everything’s the same on the drive now the snow’s gone – it’s Skip in the background of course who had his 2nd gotcha last week, so Blakey enjoyed his share of the celebration pilchard tea. I’m hoping occasional fish oil will help clear his considerable dandruff…

!cid_3442F423-4FD6-44AD-A2D6-59016247B359

Sadly though….

The most extraordinary thing happened a couple of days ago – as I think everyone knows, Blakey has never been known to make a sound of any kind in all the time he’s been in kennels or here. All 4 dogs and I were chilling in the sitting room and I was eating a sandwich. Suddenly Blakey looked at the sandwich and tried to speak – a sound, very deep and muffled, came out of his throat , mouth closed. He looked at me, shot into the kitchen and wee’d on the floor in terror. I THINK HE’S BEEN BEATEN FOR BARKING IN THE PAST.

Of course I just ignored, let him out , cleaned up and then burst into tears!!

He’s really bonding well with the gang – even Miss Cassie rat bag who bullies him unmercifully … and he’s a joy to walk , never pulls, ignores everything and seems to enjoy the countryside (I have avoided areas with people for the moment). He has made 2 new friends – a vicar friend who was brilliant at ignoring him and then just walked round the garden with us and eventually took the lead and a neighbour who just sat quietly too. He’s accepted the presence of our dog walker (though he doesn’t go out with her).

He is doing it all at his own pace and I’m really proud of him.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. I was amazed to hear that Blake has been so silent as he was always one of the most vocal greys at the shelter in Cork. However I’m so delighted to see he has been making such fabulous progress, he always broke my heart as he was always so sad, every photo I have of him shows the despair in his eyes, he loved his walks but always walked sedately and a safe distance behind you so to see that he’s almost behaving like a ‘normal’ dog now is great. Give him a big kiss from me!!!!

  2. Blake's foster mum permalink

    Hi, Caranolga,

    Blakey was delighted to receive your greetings and sends a big kiss back.

    (From his fostermum)

  3. Oh dear, I’ve just read this bit and have got watery eyes and a prickly nose 😦 You are doing an amazing thing with him.

  4. I’ve just stumbled across your blog via a fellow greyhound friend, and that part about him being beaten for barking breaks my heart. We rescued our latest hound on Hogmanay, and he too came from an untold horrific past. It’s so heartening to see how far he’s come (and how much of a chancer he is!), but it still breaks my heart when you see those very real moments of fear flash across his face as if he thinks he’s going to be treated the same as he was in the past for barking or scratching something. Personally I think he’s hilarious, and if you’d like to read about his adventures, I’ve done a blog entry on him when we got him, and just recently, after a spate of mid afternoon munchings: http://www.eatytweety.com
    You’re doing a fantastic job with this hound, he’s such a honey and I really hope he finds his forever home soon. I just wish we could take them all in. Beautiful, beautiful dogs! x

Leave a comment